The Best and Worst of 2016

best-and-worst-2016-pic

Since 2017 is only a few days away I thought it would be appropriate to list the best and worst films I’ve seen in 2016. I’ll be listing three films that I thought were great and really stood out and another three that I thought were weak and very underwhelming.

Let’s start with the three best films of 2016.

  1. Deadpool

deadpool-gallery-03-gallery-image

It’s not Citizen Kane but I can’t deny that Deadpool is one of the wittiest films to come out in a while.

The film’s sassy satire of superhero tropes and clichés is hard not to like. Its pop culture references may damage its posterity but Deadpool isn’t supposed to be a timeless classic, it’s a cinematic piss-take for today’s generation.

For me Deadpool is one of the best films of 2016 because of its humour and its courageous originality.

  1. 10 Cloverfield Lane

10_cloverfield_lane_paramount_winstead-0-0

The setting may be limited but with understandable, empathetic characters and a plot that doesn’t stop twisting, 10 Cloverfield Lane is incredible. The film had me engaged in a way that all the big-budget, Sci-Fi, Superhero, Fantasy epics couldn’t.

Despite the far-fetched climax 10 Cloverfield Lane produced an intense experience with minimal characters and a single setting and for that it’s my second best film of the year.

  1. Anomalisa

nyv_film_20151230_anomalisa_paramount_pictures

This film is unlike anything I’ve seen, that’s the primary reason Anomalisa is the best film of 2016 for me (it technically came out in 2015 but it didn’t get to the UK until 2016).

It tells a strange and disturbing story about a man with a depressing view of the people around him. With beautiful stop-motion animation the film shows his psychological condition, how it changes and how he struggles against it as it grows stronger.

Out of all the films in 2016 Anomalisa stuck out the most hence it was my immediate choice for best of the year.

Now let’s get onto the three worst films of 2016.

  1. Suicide Squad

suicide-squad-movie-characters-calendar

I thought this film was a mess. It had too many characters and subplots, some of which I liked to be fair such as Deadshot and Harley Quinn’s backstory.

I think Suicide Squad lacked focus; there was no protagonist or any principle characters. Everyone, even the most minor characters, gets a scene or two.

The overabundance of characters and backstories was so great it was impossible for me to get invested in the story. It’s cluttered and boring, which is why it’s my third worst film of the year.

  1. Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

review-zack-snyders-batman-v-superman-dawn-of-justice-starring-ben-affleck-henry-cavill-jesse-eisenberg-amy-adams-more

2016 hasn’t been a good year for the DC Extended Universe.

Batman V Superman basically has the same problems as Suicide Squad but worse. Suicide Squad at least had a clear, defined ending. The whole film was leading to the squad defeating the enchantress.

Batman V Superman has a lot more unnecessary subplots, many of which don’t need to be in the film. Wonder Woman, Doomsday and even Lex Luthor could’ve been cut out.

The film felt more cluttered and more boring than Suicide Squad hence it’s my second worst film of 2016.

  1. Ghostbusters

ghostbusters-full-new-img

If this was more of a paranormal, Sci-Fi film with more action and less comedy I don’t think I would’ve disliked it as much. However, since Ghostbusters is a full-blown comedy I was a little appalled by it.

The plot is slow and forgettable and the comedy consists of pop culture references and ad-libbed banter. On top of that, there are some depressing cameos from the cast of the original.

It’s one of the worst comedies I’ve ever seen and when reflecting on all the films I saw in 2016 Ghostbusters seemed the perfect candidate for the number one worst film of the year.

 

So those are my picks of the best and worst films of 2016. As the New Year draws closer there doesn’t seem to be anything else to do apart from sit back, relax and await the cinematic marvels and atrocities of 2017.

Leave a Reply

