SPOILERS AHOY! How 10 Cloverfield Lane COULD be a sequel to Cloverfield

JJ Abrams and Dan Trachtenberg have made it very clear in interviews that 10 Cloverfield Lane has nothing to do with the original Cloverfield.

Both films are supposed to be a part of an anthology series containing original films sharing an overarching theme.

However, I said in my review of 10 Cloverfield Lane that I had a few theories on how the two films share the same continuity.

Even though they’re completely wrong, I’m still going to share them here.

10 Cloverfield Lane theory pic
Gettin’ academic!

First Theory

The ‘10 Cloverfield Lane’ road sign Michele knocks over while driving away could indicate that the film takes place a decade or so after the original.

Assuming the monster was killed, the area could’ve been named in memorial of those who died in the ‘Cloverfield’ incident.

The film takes place in Louisiana which is over five hundred miles away from New York.

New York was named after the Duke of York in 1664, a person and city thousands of miles away so it could be plausible.

Second Theory

Howard is said to have worked with satellites in the navy. This could relate to the satellite that is seen falling into the ocean at the very end of Cloverfield.

Many have debated the origin of the monster, some say it is a creature from the sea while others argue it is of extra-terrestrial descent.

If it is the latter it may be possible that Howard was involved with the satellite that fell and it was carrying the original monster hence Howard’s knowledge of the aliens, which brings me to my final theory.

Third Theory

The aliens could be of the same species or come from the same planet as the monster.

The large cybernetic alien ship is seen to have large tentacles, these tentacles do kind of resemble the tail and the little arms on the monster.

As I said the film’s creators have pretty much denied that this is a sequel to Cloverfield. I was unaware of this as I wrote my review so I did see some legitimacy in these theories.

I do kind of like the idea of a Cloverfield anthology series but for me there were so many unanswered questions in the first film. I still wish that one day we’ll get some answers in some form or another.

Ah well, a man can dream.

Leave a Reply

