When Will The Superhero Craze End?

“I think its got at least another five good years in it”. That was a comment from Scottish Comic Book writer Mark Millar concerning the longevity of Marvel Superhero Movies and I hope he’s right.

This is Mark Millar by the way
This is Mark Millar by the way

Now don’t get me wrong, I think the Marvel Cinematic Universe has produced one of the greatest story arcs in recent memory. This franchise has given us some wonderful characters, most of them developed beautifully.

I’m looking forward to Infinity Wars. I hope those two films give this story the conclusion it needs.

However, looking at Marvel’s other plans that may not be the case.

According to Kevin Feige, President of Marvel Studios, the company has dozens of films planned with release dates going as far as 2028.

I don’t know about you but I think that’s too much.

If this information was released three years ago, when Thor 2 and Iron Man 3 were out, I’d be more optimistic but now after seeing Avengers 2 and Ant-Man, I’m not so sure.

There seems to be only so much you can do in this universe. Ant-Man, Avengers 2 and even the great Winter Soldier had similar environments and motifs which made them feel a little boring. They all had cities, grey metal rooms, robots, aliens, lasers.

I think they should just end it at Infinity Wars because if they go any further its just going to get even more boring.

Can you handle it?
Can you handle it?

Fortunately since the Infinity Wars films are scheduled to come out in 2018 and 2019, me and Mark Millar could be right. Then again Fox, Sony and Warner Bros. seem to be mapping their own Cinematic Universes so we could be in for twenty years of Superheroes.

Could this be the case? What do you think?

Click here to see the full interview with Mark Millar.

Leave a Reply

